In the 1970's in Chile, recording anything was complicated. The state-owned IRT label was administered by the military. Domestic releases gave way to an invasion of foreign music. At most, a Chilean group like Santa y su Gente (Santa and his People) could hope for one appearance on television, or a very low-key event—this was the reality of the music world after the coup. Few groups had the good fortune to overcome the prevailing censorship: this was the case with Santa y su Gente (Santa and his People). Santiago Salas was a percussionist stepped in jazz. It was he who assembled a band with musicians of the caliber of Lautaro Rosas and Mario Lecaros. The latter was a powerful musician, who would appear in other jazz fusion projects in those difficult years, and then leave Chile together to do an impressive job abroad with his group Comet. The one and only album by Santa y su Gente, “Urgente,” was released by RCA/IRT/Alba in 1974. This album is very rare, and therefore not  well known, apart from the collections of a few dj's. But it contains all you can ask for—a burbling brew of Latin Afro-jazz fusion, half salsa and half Afro, with something powerful to say. Highly recommended! Comes with a bi-lingual booklet which explores the story of Santa y su Gente in the context of the rich Chilean rock music scene.

•deep groove Latin Afro-jazz fusion

•bi-lingual booklet explores Santa y su Gente in the context of the Chilean music scene

•LP edition in 2014

Track List:
01 La muñeca (The Doll) 2:58
02 Murumba 2:29
03 Los amantes del Sol (Lovers of the Sun) 2:51
04 El salero (The Salt) 3:44
05 Colores (Colors) 2:48
06 Niebla (Fog) 2:34  
07 Pájaros en el jardín (Birds in the Garden) 4:01
08 Barco camaronero (Shrimp Boat) 2:16
09 Triángulo español (Spanish Triangle) 4:16
10 Soñando (Dreaming) 3:57
11 Una nueva vida (A New Life) 4:31

CD catalogue number: LION 674
UPC: 778578067427