the MORNING DEW “The Morning Dew”

MORNING DEWMorning Dew have been psych collector faves for ages. Their sole release, "At Last" (much like the Morgen album on Probe) becomes more obviously crucial with each passing year. After recording their legendary album for Roulette in 1969, Morning Dew headed back to Topeka feeling good about their prospects. But Roulette had problems. They did finally release "At Last" late in 1970... and marketed it so well it became a psychedelic rarity and a cult favorite. Even so, Morning Dew's producer at Roulette urged the band to record a demo of songs for a second album. They went to a local studio in August 1970 and blasted out eight songs, bolstered by new recruit Ferdy Baumgart's Hammond B3. Band leader Mal Robinson also made acoustic two-track recordings in his basement: new songs, plus others from the Morning Dew repertoire—just vocal and guitar. The band gigged while Roulette and it's honcho Morris Levy withered under scrutiny by law enforcement. A second album came to nothing. Still under contract with Roulette and still dealing with broken promises, burnt out and broke, Morning Dew disbanded in June, 1971. But those demos... they need to be heard. That's where we come in. Two records, chock full of your new favorite Morning Dew songs, plus solo acoustic versions of band classics like the monumental 'Crusader's Smile,' alternates, and more, most of which is previously unreleased.
One more thing: all of this material is making its vinyl debut.

•Taken from original tapes

•Small press run of 500x copies, housed in a deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket

•Luscious four panel color insert includes liner notes by Morning Dew songwriter Mal Robinson + lyrics

Track List:
Side A
1. 1849 5:11           
2. My Kind of Music 4:21 
3. Flying Above Myself 4:35
4. Some Day 4:36            
5. All The Time 3:48           
Side B       
1. Any Day Now 3:35
2. Lion/Away From It All (Epic II) 9:45
3. Satan’s Got A Hold On Thee 4:30 
4. Our Last Song 2:04          
Side C
1. Crusader's Smile (solo acoustic) 4:15 
2. Then Came The Light (alternate) 4:04
3. Cherry Street (backing track) 5:07
4. Something You Say (unreleased alternate) 4:16
5. Country Boy Blue (band rehearsal) 3:31
Side D              
1. Be A Friend (solo acoustic) 4:08           
2. Something You Say (solo acoustic) 3:50 
3. Away From It All (solo acoustic) 3:43 
4. My Kind of Music (solo acoustic) 3:33 
5. The Road Back (solo acoustic) 4:27

a link to an mp3 sampler, which has a little taste of every track on the record:

Catalogue number: LION LP-166
UPC: 778578316617