Miguel y El Comité
"Para Hacer Música, Para Hacer..." LP


                                y El Comité El Syndikato made Miguel Livichich a rock star in South America; but it was his sole effort as "Miguel y el Comité" that made him a groove-loving crate-digger’s dream! Livichich left El Syndikato, and in an instant, formed another band. This new group was called Miguel y el Comité (Miguel and the Committee)—a clear allusion to Livichich’s previous group El Syndikato (the Syndicate), and also a demonstration of his leadership role; even though Miguel y el Comité worked as a proper band in their structure, Miguel Livichich made all decisions concerning the group. As Livichich recalled, "I told them, I want a band to join me, but we all work together... more rock and candombe and a few things more commercial. Accept, and we make a titanic effort. An aggressive launch. I do not lie, in fifteen days we were recording the LP. It was pin, pin and we were playing at all dances. It was amazing working with Miguel y el Comité." That band's 1971 album, with Livichich firmly at the helm, fused the local candombe rhythm with beat music in an unusual and aggressive (oft-times funky, break-beat) way—the nearest band in Uruguay to the unconventional excellence that was the brief career of El Kinto. Miguel y el Comité played mostly original songs, but they also mixed in covers of tracks by other Uruguayan bands. Percussion plays a key role in the band’s sound, although the guitar playing is most distinctive: sometimes melodic, at other times carving a path through the mix, with a hard and acid distorted fuzz guitar sound, as on the title track and the fabulous cover of El Kinto's ‘Qué me importa.’ Dynamite! Old style tip-on jacket and quality vinyl pressing, newly mastered from the original tapes. Comes with a four page insert, printed on FSC recycled, chlorine-free, 100% post-consumer fiber paper manufactured using biogas energy, with band history, photos, and bi-lingual lyrics. Limited edition of only 500 copies.

1 Para Hacer Musica, Para Hacer
2 No Va Mas (Ya)
3 Choro Del "Caboca"
4 Mi Sol
5 Que Me Importa
6 Junto Al Mar
7 No Ves Que No Cabe
8 El Chofer
9 Candombe Triste
10 Hiroshima (1945)
11"Rompan Todo" (Divague)

Bonus Track
12 Mala-Mala

Catalogue number: LION LP-117
UPC: 778578311711