MARY BUTTERWORTHTravel back in time to 1969 with our official, limited edition LP reissue of one of the most sought after private press West Coast psychedelic LPs ever cut. In the tumultuous Spring of 1968, the Mary Butterworth band was formed. Contrary to rumors, the group originated from Southern California and enjoyed being thrust onto the incredible scene that was developing during this remarkable time for music. After a year or so of performing throughout the region in places like the Marina Palace in Seal Beach and others, they decided to record and release a debut album on their own label. In 1969, on a shoestring budget, their album was recorded, manufactured and released. However, the limited pressing was pre-sold to fans and friends only, and never even made it into stores. It disappeared as quickly as it arrived, as did Mary Butterworth, who disbanded not long after the album’s release, never to perform together again. After a decade or two, word of the album spread to rabid collectors of vinyl records and late 60s music. Somewhere in Europe during this time, a bootleg vinyl version was released; the legend of Mary Butterworth continued to grow, driving the price of the original pressing up (and up and up). In 2003, the Mary Butterworth’s song, ‘Feeling I Get,’ was included in the Golden Globe and Oscar winning movie Lost In Translation (starring Bill Murray and the delicious Scarlett Johansson), although it was not included on that film’s soundtrack album. But no fear, you can now get the entire album of grooving jams, dripping with reverb: Mary Butterworth returns once again, this time in the form of a licensed, limited edition (500 copies) vinyl reissue from the master tapes. Incidentally, this is the third release in our series of vinyl reissue collaborations with Vintage. "Enjoyable L.A. area high school pothead sounds with Hammond organ upfront and the stoned-est most echo-laden drum sound this side of King Tubby." (Acid Archives)

Side One:
1. Phase II
2. Optional Blues
3. It’s a Hard Road
Side Two:
1. Make You Want Me
2. Feeling I Get
3. Week in Eight Days

Catalogue number: Rock/Lion-036-V-1
UPC: 858581036013