plus one bonus track


Although they sprung ready-made from of the ashes of legendary candombe/beat group El Kinto, one of the best-kept secrets from Uruguay’s musical mythology is nevertheless the group of musicians who recorded one album as Limonada. So what happened? The story starts with the end of El Kinto, when band leader and iconoclastic maniac Eduardo Mateo decided to embark on a solo career (see our forthcoming Lion Productions collection of his early music for more details), and the other members of El Kinto said “let’s do something together”. And so it was that in the middle of 1970, Limonada recorded their one and only album, “LimoNada” (Sondor 33.111). It is a strange record, with backwards tape splices, abrupt song changes, yet at the same time it is absolutely accessible and very groovy, in a Tropicalia sort of way, which might explain why it was an immediate success. In truth, it’s a profound mystery why the Limonada LP—one of the ten best sellers of its time within three weeks of its release—seems to have vanished from the consciousness of even the most devoted fans of obscure music. Until now, of course. This carefully researched reissue contains the entire Limonada LP (its reissue debut), supplemented by an extended live bonus track. The sixteen page booklet includes historical background on the Uruguayan scene, details of the band’s past, plenty of photos, as well as a brief overview of the legendary Sondor label.

1 Ojos Que Miran Lejos 2:01
2 Barrio De Casas Bajas 1:50
3 Pasteles Verdes 2:58
4 Veo Luz En La Ventana 2:16
5 Dejemme Dormir 2:53
6 Lejos Estas 3:01
7 Siempre Caminar 3:38
8 Pies Descalzos 2:16
9 Cambiar La Rosa 3:08
10 No Puedo Comprender 3:20
11 A "Nonica" 2:40
12 Viejo Tambor 2:54
13 Pies Descalzos (Live) 8:01

Catalogue number: Lion 607
UPC number: 778578060725