FUSIÓN "Top Soul"


Impossible to find jazz/soul/funk monster by Fusión, issued in Chile in 1975 by ALBA (ALD-041)—a fulsome combination of funk, electric jazz, and soul, with Latin roots. Bassist Enrique Luna had lived and studied art in New York, and knew first-hand the last, avant-garde years of John Coltrane, and Miles Davis’ mutation from hard bop trendsetter into an electric jazz pioneer; Matias Pizarro had appeared on the scene in the mid-60s as a young pianist of outstanding technical ability and advanced ideas. Together they formed a band around a core of Peruvian musicians, with soloists including David Estánovich (tenor sax) and Lautaro Rosas (guitar), plus a rhythm trio of Mario Lecaros (electric piano, former Village Trio), and Orlando Avendaño (drums), with guest appearances by trumpeter Daniel Lencina, and young percussionist Santiago Salas (Santa y su gente). Censorship during the Chilean military regime meant heavy restrictions on artists. Thus the Fusión album was pressed in a very limited quantity, and never legally re-issued—until now! Comes with a bi-lingual booklet which explores the story of Fusión in the context of the rich Chilean rock music scene. LP edition in 2014!

•super grooving, funky electric jazz with Latin roots

•bi-lingual booklet explores Fusión in the context of the rich Chilean music scene

•LP edition in 2014

Track List:

01 Thank you 2:40
02 Dedos 4:16  
03 Balada de Matias 5:13
04 Mambiadito 3:19
05 Way back home 3:30  
06 Pulseras 1:34  
07 You are the sunshine of my life 3:10
08 Lamentacion 4:40  
09 Para toda la gente 3:28  
10 Dee blooz 2:55

CD catalogue number: LION 673
UPC: 778578067328